Photography and art my way, through my eyes to yours

Don’t always trust what you think

My first assignment for my One month Photography “short term” class called “Photography as a document” was not the disaster I expected it to be. Seeing the Bates College campus day to day, it didn’t seem very inspirational to document a certain aspect of the campus. Not much after we were given the assignment, I decided to document banisters. I tried to give the handrails and architectural approach, which didn’t seem to work out.

The critique from the class really surprised me. First of all I should say, I wasn’t too fond of my work. Second of all, one of the 5 pieces that didn’t seem to fit with the rest of the images, was the one that got the most attention as a good photo with a sense of anachronism. This has lead me to post the image for you to see. Please if needed, tell me what I can do to improve! Again, this constructive criticism is one of the most helpful things to an artist.

The first five photos for the assignment will be posted as a gallery. I will enlarge two of the photos that got the most attention during the critique of my work.

Thanks for viewing,

Uriel

olinrail-bw

parker

2 responses

  1. constructive criticism hmm…
    I really like the how you portrayed depth with the second b&w photo. However, I think you can improve this photo by taking out the rug-like object on the far right using photoshop and I feel like image cropping(?) on the staircase lessens the effectiveness of the story that you are trying to tell.

    May 6, 2009 at 6:55 PM

  2. I’m fond of the fourth picture (of the five smaller). It feels more simple and therefore attention is not diverted from the main thrust of the picture: the railing, and then the shadows on the ground.

    I also think it offers the best three-dimensional quality.

    May 20, 2009 at 1:04 PM

Leave a Reply

